The filing fee for a divorce in Utah is $310.
When you file, there is an $8 fee that you have to pay to the Utah Vital Records Department as well.
So, the true cost to file is $318.
Now, there are also costs associated with serving court documents.
See, once you file your divorce complaint with the Court, you have to have someone serve your soon-to-be ex with those documents.
The Utah Rules of Civil Procedure specify you can’t do that personally (too much room for monkey business), so you should have a professional process server do it. That might be a constable with the sheriff’s office, or a company that serves these sort of documents regularly.
Either way, the cost for service will likely be around $50
All told, the cost to file and serve a Utah divorce averages $375–$400.
How Much Do Divorce Lawyers Cost?
The answer is: it depends on how much you and your spouse want to fight. If you agree on everything at the beginning of the legal process, then a divorce lawyer will probably cost around $1000–$3000, depending on the attorney’s quality and experience. If you disagree about major issues, like child custody, parent-time, asset division, or alimony, then you will pay a divorce lawyer many thousands. Mediation will likely cost around $6000–$10,000 depending on the complexity of your case and how many issues you disagree about. If you cannot resolve your case through negotiation and you go to trial, you will pay a divorce lawyer, on average, $30,000–$50,000
Call Brown Family Law
If you find yourself facing a Utah divorce, please call 801.685.9999 for a legal in-person consultation, or use our online scheduling tool.