Does Utah Have a Waiting Period for Divorce?
So, the Utah Legislature doesn’t like divorce. And to show how much it doesn’t like divorce, Utah used to have a 90-day divorce waiting period.
On May 8, 2018, the Utah Legislature shortened the 90-day waiting period to 30 days.
So, now a divorce can be finalized 30 days after it’s filed.
In reality, it’ll probably be more like 45 days, because divorce documents tend to sit around on a judge’s desk for two weeks before they are signed.
Either way, it’s a lot shorter waiting period than it used to be.
Call Brown Family Law
If you find yourself facing a Utah divorce, please call 801.685.9999 for a legal in-person consultation, or use our online scheduling tool.
Schedule a time to talk with us – we are here to help you. When you meet with your attorney, we will go over your entire case, your children, your money and everything else that’s important to you. Our goal is to remove the fear associated with divorce by protecting your money and maximizing your time with your kids, all within 3-6 months. We look forward to meeting with you!
While this website provides general information, it does not constitute divorce advice. The best way to get guidance on your specific divorce issue is to contact a lawyer. To schedule a divorce consultation with an attorney, please call or complete the intake form above.
The use of the Internet (or this form) for communication with the firm (or any individual member of the firm) does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.