Do I Have to Take a Class to Get Divorced in Utah?

It’s a lot harder to get divorced than it is to get married.

Getting married is cake. You go to church, get hitched, and your on your merry way. (I know, I know, it’s never that simple. You have to plan the wedding and the reception and the like. But still, if you’re going minimalist, it’s pretty easy.)

By contrast, when you divorce, you have divide all the assets and debts, figure out how to handle custody and parent-time, sell the home, find new places to live, change schools, and on and on.

And, to make things ever more complicated, you may have to take a class to get divorced in Utah.

Yep, if you have kids (single people are exempted), then you will need to take two classes. (If you don’t, the Court willnot finalize your divorce.)

The first is a divorce orientation class. The second is a divorce education class.

These classes are usually taught at the same time, so you can fulfill the requirement in one sitting. I believe both total between two and three hours.

The classes cost, but not much. If you take the classes within the first month of filing your Utah divorce, the cost is $15. If you take it after the thirty days, the price increases, but it’s still around $50.

What if I don’t live in Utah?

If you don’t live in Utah, you still have to take the classes. There is an option in which you can order a DVD and complete the courses that way. It takes longer, but it works.

Utah also offers the divorce orientation course online, but does not offer the divorce education class online (not sure why).

Where do I go to take the classes, and when are they offered?

In Salt Lake, most people go the Matheson Courthouse (450 S State St) to take the courses. They have courses in English and Spanish at Matheson.

Outside of Salt Lake there are a number of locations where the courses are offered.

Where can I find more information about these divorce classes?

The best place to go for more information is the Utah Courts webpage. Here’s a link.

Published On: January 29th, 2016Categories: MarriageComments Off on Do I Have to Take a Class to Get Divorced in Utah?
Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!
About the Author: Marco Brown
Marco C. Brown was named Utah’s Outstanding Family Law Lawyer of the Year in 2015. He graduated with distinction from the University of Nebraska College of Law in 2007 and is currently the managing partner of Brown Family Law, LLC.
Contact Us – We Are Here to Help You

Schedule a time to talk with us – we are here to help you. When you meet with your attorney, we will go over your entire case, your children, your money and everything else that’s important to you. Our goal is to remove the fear associated with divorce by protecting your money and maximizing your time with your kids, all within 3-6 months. We look forward to meeting with you!

Call us 24/7 at 801-685-9999 to Speak with a Live Representative
Get A Legal Consultation With An Experienced Utah Attorney
Your privacy is 100% guaranteed, your information will never be sold or shared.

While this website provides general information, it does not constitute divorce advice. The best way to get guidance on your specific divorce issue is to contact a lawyer. To schedule a divorce consultation with an attorney, please call or complete the intake form above.

The use of the Internet (or this form) for communication with the firm (or any individual member of the firm) does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.